Morris Dees Justice Award Nominations Sought

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2008 Morris Dees Justice Award. The award honors a lawyer who has devoted his or her career to serving the public interest and pursuing justice, and whose work has brought about positive changes in the community, state or nation. Past winners have included Arthur N. Read (2007), who dedicated his career to representing farmworkers and immigrants, including a 25-year career as general counsel of Friends of Farmworkers, Inc., and Judge William Wayne Justice (2006), recognized for his lifelong efforts to protect civil rights, including more than 30 years as a federal district court judge.

The 2008 selection committee also was announced and includes executive partner Robert C. Sheehan as committee co-chair, as well as litigation partner Vaughn C. Williams and Susan Butler Plum, director of the Skadden Fellowship Foundation. 

The deadline to submit nominations is July 30, 2008.

Click here for further details and to view the full list of 2008 committee members.